Light Note About Research and Industry in Japan

Japan Research Actual Condition

Lately, after I finished my internship period in Chiyoda, somehow, it changed my frame of mind. Before I join that internship program, in somewhere in my head, I wanted to be a researcher, work in a remote research center (but still in Japan). But during the internship, I know from seniors working at Chiyoda about  fact that many of research done by professors in universities, even in Japan, end up as archived research documents, without any follow up. I mean, there are only a few research topics would be applied in industry. If it’s about Indonesia, then I won’t deny for that. But We are talking about Japan, man!!!Furthermore, it can be said no career for researchers. The highest position they can pursue is head of research center. Meanwhile, if you work in Japanese companies, you’ll have a great chance to go to mid-level manager, or even board member, regardless your status as a foreigner.

Perhaps you’ll say I’m wrong, I am capitalist, but I’m telling you just  the facts.

In Japan, unlike US, Europe and Australia, there is no coursework degree, so students must do research, and fulfill their professor ambition of publishing papers as many as possible. If capitalist is described as “Mata Duitan” (Indonesian word, means “dollar eyed”), we may say many professors in japan are “Mata Paper-an” (paper-eyed). But it can’t be helped. I’m already entering this kind of environment, so what I have to do is just taking advantage from them, learn to think logically, learn to do assignments responsibly, learn to do presentation periodically, and learn many things else.

Prepare from Now –A Book Review

My ambition to enter “wild” Japanese industry, made me want to enrich my understanding about industry in Japan. That reminded myself, that in 4th semester, I attended a class called 日本事情第4(Topics on Japan IV), by Professor Sachio Hirose. FYI, before entering Tokyo Tech as a professor, he used to be an executive director of one of chemical company giants in japan. Textbook used in the class, was given out free of charge, was authored by himself, and the title is 「新しい企業の動向に強くなれ―理系留学生のための社会人入門―」or can be translated literally as “Be Strong at Industry New Trend –Introduction Guidance to Enter Working Society for Science-Engineering Int’l Students-“

Even it has been more than 6 month since I got credit from that class, I’m still reading it. The book teaches me many things. I feel this book as an advice collection presented by director of a big company. It’s kinda hard to explain everything explained in this book, but I can say that this book is now one of my life manual (人生マニュアル) in Japan. Everytime I want brief explanation about current trend of Japanese industry, the condition of labor in japan, or when I write a curriculum vitae and I don’t have idea what should I write in some columns, I refer to this book. Good answers for interview, ideas for humanity class reports etc. are also often figured out when I read the book. When I talked with my Japanese friends about some contents of this book, they often say they don’t know about the matter. The book also contains many tips if you want to enter Japanese industry, and how to prepare your professional personality. In a word, I really recommend this book for everyone, especially international students majoring at engineering who is able to read literatures written in Japanese. And for students of Tokyo Tech, especially undergraduate students, I highly recommend you guys to take Professor Hirose Sachio’s class. He’ll really inspire you ^^

About chemieingenieur

Let me introduce myself. My fullname is Baharuddin Maghfuri. I was born in 1988 in the city of Magelang, Indonesia. I spent my early childhood until my highschool in that peaceful small city. After that I study in Bandung Institute of Technology for just one semester. I hope you don’t think I dropped out. Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport and Technology of Japan gave me a big opportunity to study in undergraduate program in japan. And now, I live in Japan, studying Chemical Engineering in Tokyo Institute of Technology. I hope everything will be alright and I’ll complete the undergraduate degree in 2011, then just continue onto Master Degree with qualification Chemical Engineering. Most of my interests are related with my study, photography, pop music and computers: - Chemical engineering in undergraduate level, such as Stoichiometry, Thermodynamics, Transport Phenomena etc. - Studying languages – I am able to communicate in English, Japanese, Indonesian. Now I’m trying to learn Germany. - I love to spend my free time hang out with my friends from Indonesia and taking pictures. - The C Programming and other codings also makes me happy and of course blogging at time to time. But nowdays, beside doing my interests, Indonesian community here asked me to work with them in some volunteer activities. The followings are some of them. You might find my name in their sites. 1. Kammi Jepang 2. PMIJ 3. PPI Tokodai 4. KMII Jepang and so on.
This entry was posted in All-About-Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Light Note About Research and Industry in Japan

  1. Pingback: Light Note About Research and Industry in Japan « Bahrfly's Blog しゃかいがく

  2. slevin says:

    Hello
    How are you?
    Can you help me?
    I watched a japanese animation but i dont know its original or english name.
    Please translate its writing for me.(Its intro)
    great thanks

  3. AdelaideBen says:

    Hiya
    So what research area are you in? I am often interested in resuming my research career – of all places in Japan – as I would like to move there with my Japanese wife. Unfortunately both my research career (in the physical sciences) is too dated and my Japanese is too poor.

    I wonder however how much of the research in Japan is constrained also by being based largely in Japanese… how much research is published internationally as compared to domestically?

  4. I am also interested to know what research area you are involved in? I think Japan would be a great place to work.

Leave a comment