About My Final Project: About Phase Transfer Catalysis Reaction

All boundaries is difficult to cross: political, legal, geographic boundaries, and also phase boundaries in chemical systems. Many desirable reactions cannot be brought about because the reactants are inaccessible to each other. One typical system is a system consists of water soluble nucleophilic reagent and an organic water insoluble electrophilic reagent. To solve the problem of this system, traditionally both reagents are solved in water-like and organic-like solvent, such as ethanol which has both hydrophilic nature from its hydroxyl group and lipophilic nature from its ethyl group. But this method has a limitation that the reaction rate decreased due to the solvation of the nucleophile. The other method, such as using of expensive dipolar aprotic solvents like DMSO has been applied but proven to have disadvantages such as difficulty of the separation during post reaction recovery.

A feasible and industrially successful method to solve such system is the use of phase transfer agents, which transfer reactive anions from the aqueous or solid phase into the organic phase, where the reaction occurs. And this 40 years since first mentioned in some early patents, Phase Transfer Catalysis (PTC) has proved to be a very important means of transcending phase barriers in heterogeneous systems. And Starks, with his first publication “Quaternary Ammonium Salts as Phase Transfer Catalysts” and his book published in 1978, “Phase Transfer Catalysis: I Heterogeneous Reactions Involving Anion Transfer by Quaternary Ammonium and Phosphonium Salts” is believed to have coined the phrase phase transfer catalysis.

It is estimated by Starks in 1994 that Phase Transfer Catalysis has been used in as many as 500 commercial processes, with wide ranging applications in the pharmaceuticals, agro-based chemicals, and polymer science. The reason is that PTC finds applications in primarily nucleophilic substitution reactions and in reactions in the presence of bases involving the deprotonation of weakly acidic organic compounds. Reactions which could be carried out by PTC include redox, polymerizations, synthesis of carbenes, addition reactions, condensations and so on, which are often part of a multistep synthesis process for fine chemicals manufacture.

Despites thousands of publications on the chemistry and the applications of PTC, comprehensive kinetic study and mathematical modeling of the PTC reactions is still lacking. That’s why, my research for my final project will be an attempt to review the kinetic studies and mathematical modeling of PTC system using a reaction model described below.

The PT catalyst (Q) used in above reaction is Polyethylene glycol, which is despite its rather low reactivity compared to common PT catalyst Ammonium Salts, Polyethylene glycol is proven to be low price and not poisonous, which is suitable to designing of continuous type of reactors.

About chemieingenieur

Let me introduce myself. My fullname is Baharuddin Maghfuri. I was born in 1988 in the city of Magelang, Indonesia. I spent my early childhood until my highschool in that peaceful small city. After that I study in Bandung Institute of Technology for just one semester. I hope you don’t think I dropped out. Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport and Technology of Japan gave me a big opportunity to study in undergraduate program in japan. And now, I live in Japan, studying Chemical Engineering in Tokyo Institute of Technology. I hope everything will be alright and I’ll complete the undergraduate degree in 2011, then just continue onto Master Degree with qualification Chemical Engineering. Most of my interests are related with my study, photography, pop music and computers: - Chemical engineering in undergraduate level, such as Stoichiometry, Thermodynamics, Transport Phenomena etc. - Studying languages – I am able to communicate in English, Japanese, Indonesian. Now I’m trying to learn Germany. - I love to spend my free time hang out with my friends from Indonesia and taking pictures. - The C Programming and other codings also makes me happy and of course blogging at time to time. But nowdays, beside doing my interests, Indonesian community here asked me to work with them in some volunteer activities. The followings are some of them. You might find my name in their sites. 1. Kammi Jepang 2. PMIJ 3. PPI Tokodai 4. KMII Jepang and so on.
This entry was posted in Sci-Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About My Final Project: About Phase Transfer Catalysis Reaction

  1. Hi ! Very interesting site !
    Since you seem to live in japan I have a question.
    I would like to know if you or readers of this blog are interested in writing about the way you have personnally experienced the Northeastern Japan Earthquake (if you haven’t but you know people who have experienced the earthquake in Japan, it’d be great if you coud let him/her know about this).
    Tokyo Room Finder Short Essay Contest is an online project to gather heart-warming experiences following the earthquake in Japan. We strongly believe that sharing those experiences will give people hope and revitalize Japan.
    We also offer 2 tickets for Tokyo Disney Resort to each of the winners.

    For more details : http://tokyoroomfinder.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

