Takao-San (高尾山) Visit

Japan is being very densely populated especially in Tokyo, my city, so a trip to the big outdoors can be a real relief from this busy city. Mount Takao, a small but lovely mountain in western Tokyo can be one alternative for that purpose. Being only an hour away from Tokyo by train, it is very popular, especially when the sun is out.

Yesterday, although I did not really shape for it, I was convinced by my friends to climb that mountain with them, to survey for the bigger event in the following week. For all of us (4 people), it was the first time. The night before, I was so pessimistic because it was raining, and the wheather forecast in Yahoo!Japan said that i’d be rain on the next day. Even so, like the Javanese proverb, “Rawe-rawe rantas, malang-malang mutung”, I convinced myself and my fellows just to go ahead. I hoped that rainy weather might also have helped keep people away, and it was really nice not to have to deal with the usual crowds.

Hiking Trails of Takao-San

image source: takaotozan.co.jp

Because it was the first time, we just follow the instruction of the security center in the gate of the mountain, that’s to climb the first trail (1号路). The first kilometres was a very boring hiking course since in our left, right and surroundings were only big and tall trees,and  in front of us was only steep  pavement. The air was so humid, and sometimes the fog was so thick I couldn’t see anything. At that time, the women was always complaining, to take a longer rest ^_^); I felt kinda ashamed to see how old men climbed the mountain without taking any rest.

The First Kilometres Mist

After climbing the long and never-ending well-paved-path, we reached the Takao-San Station, a station of Japan Most Steep Railway, a station of cable car and two-seated cable chair/lift. The scenery from that point was really worth it, and fortunately the fog had cleared up. Besides, the guide sign said that we can see even Shinjuku skyscrapers and Tokyo Harbor from that station, as you can see from this image. By the way, in that station there are many convenient facilities such as toilets, vending machines, benches and some scopes (but you must pay 100 yen to see through). You can also buy some traditional snack called yaki-dango (sticky rice balls, grilled on a braise, but actually it tastes so plain ^_^).

The Magnificent View from The Takao-San Station

We continued our trip walk through the 1st Trail, and the view was entirely different. The maple tree has begun to change their color, and along the way, there were red painted night lamps, small shops, monkeys park and some budha statues, which made the path so colorful. And unlike the first kilometres, the path was more crowded. I think they’re lazy (ups, did not have time, I mean) to climb so they used the train. And surprisingly, there were cars passed that mountain pavement. How well developed is this mountain!!

Our next stop was Yakuoin Temple, a huge budhist temple just a couple hundred meters from the summit. Like the usual Japanese Budhist temples, there were some small shops selling souvenirs, fortune-telling papers and charms. We took rest and some photographs there for some minutes then continue our journey to the summit. The way to the summit wasn’t really tough, but the wet soil was little bit disturbing. Fortunately we found a beautiful scenery, a combination of fog, trees shadow, and the shy sunlight like the pictures below.

Stunning Combination of Sunlight, Shadows, and Fog

The Stunning Fog, Shadows, and Sunlight

Shortly after walking some hundreds meters , finally we reach the summit!!! From the Takao-San Guchi Station, it took 3 hours, including taking photographs, rest in every 200 meters and at very slow pace.  The summit itself is also very urban in some ways. Other than the always present vending machines, you can choose from several stalls where to buy your hot food. The visitor centre, also at the summit, shows an interesting picture taken in the early 1950s, where the top of this mountain was treeless. Wood shortages during the war meant that locals helped themselves to whatever there was around. However, today it has all grown back and it is now quite difficult to get a good view except through some gaps in the vegetation. On a clear day, it is said that you can see Mt. Fuji from here.

Here’s some photographs i’ve taken just for fun, not for the documentation. They’re taken with my beloved Canon 5D, Tamron 28-75mm 2.8 and EF 135mm 2.0 L.

Sleeping Together

Red Leaves

Together

Almost Falling

Thanks for mba Batari, Isa and Dita. You all were best for planning this survey trip.

About chemieingenieur

Let me introduce myself. My fullname is Baharuddin Maghfuri. I was born in 1988 in the city of Magelang, Indonesia. I spent my early childhood until my highschool in that peaceful small city. After that I study in Bandung Institute of Technology for just one semester. I hope you don’t think I dropped out. Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport and Technology of Japan gave me a big opportunity to study in undergraduate program in japan. And now, I live in Japan, studying Chemical Engineering in Tokyo Institute of Technology. I hope everything will be alright and I’ll complete the undergraduate degree in 2011, then just continue onto Master Degree with qualification Chemical Engineering. Most of my interests are related with my study, photography, pop music and computers: - Chemical engineering in undergraduate level, such as Stoichiometry, Thermodynamics, Transport Phenomena etc. - Studying languages – I am able to communicate in English, Japanese, Indonesian. Now I’m trying to learn Germany. - I love to spend my free time hang out with my friends from Indonesia and taking pictures. - The C Programming and other codings also makes me happy and of course blogging at time to time. But nowdays, beside doing my interests, Indonesian community here asked me to work with them in some volunteer activities. The followings are some of them. You might find my name in their sites. 1. Kammi Jepang 2. PMIJ 3. PPI Tokodai 4. KMII Jepang and so on.
This entry was posted in All-About-Japan, Fun Times and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Takao-San (高尾山) Visit

  1. fakhria says:

    Hwaa!!! harus ikut momiji! harus ikut momiji! harus ikut momiji!!!

    H-A-R-U-S
    I-K-U-T
    M-O-M-I-J-I !

  2. owek says:

    weleh2….bagus2 oi poto2nya………..
    kapan2 foto KL, bah…

    (Kyai Langgeng)

  3. owek says:

    menurut saya, yg bagus: almost falling, together, sama the stunning opo kae fog shadow and sunlight kalo ga salah

    tapi yang paling bagus sleeping together..
    haha…mumet to?

Leave a Reply

